top of page

Taikoo Li - Best Shopping Centre in the world!


Taikoo Li

So I thought I'd just drop in a few pics and thoughts about my favourite place in China (so far!) At the risk of appearing shallow and consumerist, it's a shopping and feasting paradise (If paradise was full of very expensive shops and equally expensive bars - I mean, it might be!)

So its full name is Sino-Ocean Taikoo-Li and it's just by the other really big, and equally expensive shopping mall if IFS

IFS

Now IFS is good, loads of Guuci, Prada, Dolce & Gabbana etc. and also has by Japanese favourite

It also has a stunning giant panda sculpture climbing up the side what peeks over the rooftop dining area. But these aren't enough to tempt me away from Taikoo-Li for long.

So this is what Taikoo-Li has that other Malls don't:

1. It's outside

2. It's mainly on the ground level with some second floor shops that I don't care about!

3. All the shops are in a fairly old style with lots of wood and tons of glass

4. It never feels too busy

5. It is built around some ancient buildings, particularly an old Buddhist temple

6. Blue Frog Blue Frog Blue Frog Blue Frog Blue Frog

Before i come to Blue Frog - my hot poop fave I'll tell you about a couple of other places which are good for some western nosh - When you live in the country and the closest you get to western food is a Snickers, believe me these are a real treat.

Baker & Spice

Baker & Spice

As the name suggests, this does great bread products, by that I may mean sandwiches but they are really tasty and can be complemented by home made quiche and followed by some tasty pastries - a really easy spot for lunch.

Moka Bros

Moka Bros

Another top spot for some delicious treats, lovely soup in winter and good salad and pasta dishes in summer and all things in between - really good vibe and not too expensive!

Fangsuo Bookshop

Worthy of mention, not as a place to eat but one of the most beautiful bookshops on earth, set underground at IFS with huge vaulted ceilings and some ridiculously beautiful and expensive gifts that I stroke when i get the chance! Oh, and a really good western book section - well worth a visit.

And finally ......................

Blue Frog - oh how I love you!

So, it's a bar cafe that sells really good burgers and salads and other things you'd expect.

They also sell a range of good beers

I have spent whole weekends enjoying happy hour - buy one get a free refill 4pm - 8pm every day and also daily specials on food - BOGOFF burger Mondays for example.

I want for nothing more than sitting outside Blue Frog, on pint 3 or 4 and just watching my Chinese world wander by. Mrs B will be visiting again for two weeks in July 2016 and I can certainly see takings going up. Living the dream!

Later peeps!


RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page