top of page

Louvre Abu Dhabi


I know, no post for 18 months and then 2 in a day, like a bus!

I wanted to just post about the Louvre which I visited a couple of weeks ago - it is stunning, believe the hype!

Louvre from the outside

It was raining on the day I visited, quite unusual out here and therefore the rain through the roof made for a unique and magical experience.

I can take or leave an art gallery in truth, Debbie (Mrs. B!) and I can "do" a gallery or museum in about 25 minutes before escaping to a bar. This place captivated me - of course the architecture will take your breath away but the contents were beautifully selected and built around themes. There's some biggies here as well - Whistler's Mother, a Van Gogh self portrait and, not yet displayed, but coming soon, Da Vinci's Salvatore Mundi the world's most expensive painting! Man, that oil money is handy!

These are a few of my favourite things! I heartily recommend this place if you're in the area, definitely worth a detour if you're in Dubai! Mrs. B. will be out here shortly so, I hope to have a bit more to write about, having been a little more touristy.

If you haven't thought about visiting the UAE, I'd encourage you to come, there is lots out here, from outrageous buildings, to camel racing and desert safaris - the food is fantastic and the the people are a delight. It's incredibly safe out here, unless you cross the cultural boundaries, in which case, the authorities may come down hard on you, but I have experienced nothing but kindness and warmth - oh yes, it can get pretty warm. October to March/April fabulous weather - June/July/August - you'll not need cardie!


RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page